The Truth About Nutrition…

The truth about nutrition is simple….if it comes packaged and altered…it is probably not how nature intended it!

vegetarian Indonesian Sate

It kills me when tv advertising suggests Fruit Loops are healthy with their 2% fibre or granola bars are 20% of your daily fibre needs.  Come on – are you trying to tell me that I can eat 5 of these things to meet my daily fibre requirements….I don’t think so.  Plus, I am missing out on pretty much all of my vitamin, mineral and amino acid needs….

stop the insanity  www.traveldestintionbucketlist.com

Stop the insanity!

Then, I saw this anti-ad on Coke – it is BRILLIANT!!!  YOU HAVE TO WATCH IT!

Obesity and malnutrition are endemic in our land of plenty diets and it is unfathomable!  It pains me every time I see ads on tv that suggest the food that the company is spending millions promoting is better for us that the natural foods you find in nature!  Sure, we may have to prepare it a little – but the question I have for you is: Aren’t you worth it???

One of the messages that I hear in so many places…nutrition, business etc….is to live by the 80/20 rule.  For nutrition that means eat well 80% of the time, but allow for treats and crazy schedules for up to 20% of the time!

Personally, I don’t drink Coke – it hurts my stomach and makes me burp through my nose. As a kid, it was a treat – you know, once in a blue moon.  When, as a society, did we start drinking it every day?  We can’t lay all the blame on Coke, although that YouTube clip was hilarious and made it so easy….but the time is now…take control of what you eat for a better and healthier you!

cutting green beans

Related Links:

New Year’s Resolutions – Bah! – 10 Commandments of a healthy diet

Leave a Reply

